Still Cleansing Me and Spring Cleaning in the Garden

Day Six of the Cleanse and believe me that is most of my news right there. For six days I have eaten either A) Nothing (but had incredible energy drink) or B) eaten one small meal at lunch and two magic powder shakes which are like a secret potion, but do nothing for my emotional hunger. And truth be told, some dusty chocolate tablets which make me feel yes less hungry, but also like I should be nibbling them out of someone’s hand as they have a horse treat feel to them. I know what you want to know, well did you lose weight. In fact I don’t know because although this plan IsAgenix, there now I plugged it, wants you to measure yourself and get on a scale; all those things seem so shaming and even counter-productive to me. If I can’t tell when I feel better with out exterior markers then yes, shame on me.

I did this Cleanse because I wanted to unplug myself from all the care taking I do attached to food. I wanted to see how I felt as me without cooking, cleaning up, making snacks and fueling myself with a stream of too much. So when friend of mine, who used to be one of my most respected editors, now turned fitness and yoga guru, suggested this plan, I leapt in during the first week of spring. And I feel great that I am doing it.

Last night my husband, gotta love men, ate an entire bag of potatoes chips while we watched The Blind Side. It was torture. But I didn’t take any. Remember Bet you can’t eat Just one! I do. Small steps, which are making me, feel virtuous. And even if I am the same size, the same me when it is over, then I had, what my girl friend Rachel called a MECATION of sorts. Time for just me with a different cast. I walked more, I went to therapy, I took Pilates class, I wrote and wrote, and I talked with friends and family with no drinks or food involved. Amazing.

And today while doing yard work I did poop out faster than when I am eating my normal farm wife fare: a hearty breakfast, big lunch and snacks all throughout the burning, sweeping, planting, weeding. So I checked out earlier than usual and took a nap covered in cats. Wonderful. When I woke up I went through my March poem and I nearly have it.

I am a tad embarrassed, as it is such a short, simple poem. I picked it because I was supposed to have launched for India, but since the trip was postponed I stayed on course with the very terse, but deep to me, Daylight. Perhaps this month has been about seeing myself more as that Sweating older woman and loving her, loving the old bitch, whole because she is me.

I wanted to see how I felt as me without cooking, cleaning up, making snacks and fueling myself with a stream of too much. So when friend of mine, who used to be one of my most respected editors, now turned fitness and yoga guru, suggested this plan, I leapt in during the first week of spring. And I feel great that I am doing it.

3 responses to “Still Cleansing Me and Spring Cleaning in the Garden

  1. I am so enjoying reading the unique (boy, what an overused, but appropriate adjective in this case) voice of Ms. W. This blog is new for me, as I’m the ex-sister-in-law (but still good friend) of the friend that suggested Ms. W try the Isagenix cleanse and rebalancing nutritional system.

    Yes, I’m the one that set this up for her and am coaching her through the program. It has been an enjoyable, wacky ride, and I’m learning so much more about how individualized people are about their approach to this process. Thank you for that!

    My hope is that we remain friends long after this experience. I also hope that the value Isagenix brings will be appreciated and experienced along the way, too.

    For those that would like to learn more, I am delighted to share information with you. I’ve coached dozens of people through this program and have seen amazing results (including for myself) – not just weight loss, though that is incredible in and of itself – but a re-energized metabolism, calm instead of stressful reactions to this hectic world, better sleep patterns, an intrinsic desire to eat better and more sparingly (liberation from food), better functioning mind and spirit, and a zest for life! For those with diabetes, it also does an awesome job of stabilizing glucose levels.

    Reach out! I’m happy to fill you in: marymac4244@verizon.net

  2. Peter Storandt

    Somehow the text of this posting got repeated midway. However, I have to say your words bear repeating! There is so much that is simply hard in what you are doing. The simpleness masks the hardness.

  3. elizabeth mcwilliams

    my mom and i did a mini fast last year- a week total, but only three or four days of no real food. it was amazing. how much time i devote to food- shopping, cleaning, cooking, eating, thinking about what i want to eat, shopping, cleaning, dishes, cooking, dishes, sweeping crumbs, eating
    and then add the drinking on top….
    i had wanted to re-orient my relationship to food and drink after an all too unoriented winter holiday month.
    its lovely reading what your experience is like.
    i definitely eat out of many reasons that are not hunger, and i do not always, actually usually do not eat the healthful options out there… hard to incorporate this mentality into your constant life.
    best wishes!
    i want to walk with you when i am in nyc this summer lovely new york mama!

Leave a Reply

